PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

 

Meetings are open to all, and are free for national or local members of the Historical Association. This is a joint programme in collaboration with the History Department at the University of Plymouth. All meetings start at 7.00 pm on Tuesdays, and are held in the Roland Levinsky Building, University of Plymouth (click here for a map). All meetings take place in Theatre 2.

 

For more information about upcoming speakers follow the links on a person's name. Please contact us for further details.

2017-2018

Tuesday 3rd October 2017 Faded Line Policing the Blackshirts in the South West
(Dr. Iain Channing, Plymouth University)

Tuesday 17th October 2017 Faded Line Interpreting the Russian Revolution
(Prof. Geoffrey Swain, University of Glasgow)

Tuesday 7th November 2017 Faded Line Creating New Histories in India and Pakistan 1947-2017
(Dr. Pippa Virdee, De Montfort University)
To be followed by a brief AGM

Tuesday 21st November 2017 Faded LineScrolls and Serpents: the Wonders of Dark Age Art
(Dr. Janina Ramirez, University of Oxford)

Tuesday 16th January 2018 Faded Line Telegraphy and Telepathy: connecting electrical and occult communication from 1850 to the present
(Dr. Richard Noakes, University of Exeter)

Thursday 15th February 2018 Faded LineLuther and the Invention of the Reformation
(Professor Peter Marshall, University of Warwick)

Tuesday 20th February 2018 Faded Line "An Inextricable Network of Mutuality": Martin Luther King, the US Civil Rights Movement and British Race Relations since the 1960s
(Professor Brian Ward, Nothumbria University)

Tuesday 6th March 2018- 7.30 pm. Faded Line Choosing War? Choice and Tragedy in the Origins and Escalations of Vietnam's Wars
(Professor Martin Thomas, University of Exeter)

Tuesday 20th March 2018 - Christopher Durston Memorial Lecture Faded Line Details to be confirmed

Tuesday 1st May 2018 Faded Line Becoming a 'Good' Citizen: Memories of Childhood, Citizenship and Play
(Dr. Carly Adams, University of Lethbridge, Alberta)

Tuesday 15th May 2018 Faded Line Water from the Moor: Plymouth's Water Supply
(Paul Rendell, Dartmoor Guide and Historian)
This lecture is held jointly with Devon History Society: free for their members

Saturday 19th May 2018 - Time tbc Faded Line Burrator & Drake's Leat walk
(led by Paul Rendell)
Cost: members £3, non-members £5